Contenu
stacknota
Lovable
From $21 per month (workspace, unlimited members), billed yearly · Free: 5 credits a dayTry Lovable
Guide · Vibe coding

AI app builder: the steps to a no-code business app and what it costs

Jérémie Chiari
Jérémie Chiari
Founder, runs a training consultancy and an AI e-learning SaaSUpdated October 4, 2026 · Prices checked on the vendors’ sites
Short answer

Describe the app, generate its database, switch on user sign-in, then publish: four steps, no code written. Lovable Pro runs $25 a month, or $21 a month billed yearly. Base44 Starter shows $16 a month billed yearly, with no monthly price published. Both bill in credits, and how fast those credits drain depends on how complex each request is.

Contents
  1. What are the steps to build a business app with AI?
  2. What exactly is a credit on Lovable and Base44?
  3. What does each step actually consume?
  4. Are the database and user accounts included?
  5. What do you have to pay to put the app online?
  6. What do the Lovable and Base44 plans cost?
  7. Where is your app data hosted?
  8. Lovable or Base44: which one fits your case?

Key takeaways

  • Lovable Pro costs $25 a month, or $21 a month billed yearly, with 100 credits a month and tiers up to 10,000.
  • Base44 Starter shows $16 a month billed yearly, with 100 message credits and 2,000 integration credits a month.
  • Both have a free plan: 5 build credits a day on Lovable (30 a month maximum), 25 message credits a month and up to 5 apps on Base44.
  • Database, authentication and hosting are included on Base44; on Lovable, server features run on 20 Cloud credits a month, on the free plan and on Pro alike.
  • Base44 stores data in the US by default, and picking another region only comes with the Elite ($160 a month billed yearly) and Enterprise plans.
  • On Lovable, monthly credits expire after two months and are non-refundable.

Tools in this article

The comparison table
ToolStacknota scoreFromFree planData in the EULink
LovableOur pick$21per month (workspace, unlimited members), billed yearly✓ Yes✓ YesTry
Base44$16per month, billed yearly✓ Yes✗ NoTry
  • Lovable
    Our pick
    From
    $21 per month (workspace, unlimited members), billed yearly
    Free plan
    ✓ Yes
    Data in the EU
    ✓ Yes
    Try Lovable Free: 5 credits a day
  • Base44
    From
    $16 per month, billed yearly
    Free plan
    ✓ Yes
    Data in the EU
    ✗ No
    Try Base44 Free: 25 credits a month

What are the steps to build a business app with AI?

Four, in the same order every time. You describe in plain language what the app has to do. The builder generates the screens and the database behind them. You switch on user sign-in so each person only sees their own records. You publish, with or without a domain of your own. Neither Lovable (Stacknota score 4.4 out of 5) nor Base44 (4 out of 5) asks you to choose a host or install anything, and that is where their ease of use scores, 5 out of 5 and 4.5 out of 5, are earned. If the whole category is new to you, start with our roundup of vibe coding tools.

What exactly is a credit on Lovable and Base44?

Two different meters, and this is where the invoice catches people out. Lovable separates build credits (5 a day on the free plan, 30 a month maximum), Cloud credits (20 a month) and credits for the AI features inside your app (4 on the free plan). Base44 counts message credits on one side and integration credits on the other: 25 and 100 a month on the free plan, 100 and 2,000 a month on Starter.

Two Lovable limits are worth writing down before you commit: monthly credits expire after two months, and credits are non-refundable.

What does each step actually consume?

Neither vendor publishes a per-step rate card. Lovable states only that credit cost varies with the complexity of each request, which is also the limit most often held against it. Base44 puts no number on generating a screen or adding a table either.

In our reading, Base44’s split meters still hand you a usable landmark: the describing and iterating phase eats message credits, while connections to outside services (sending email, taking payments, your own internal tools) eat integration credits. The two budgets do not drain at the same speed, and the ratio moves from 25 against 100 on the free plan to 100 against 2,000 on Starter. On Lovable, everything runs through a single build counter, which is simpler to follow but harder to read when you want to know where the usage went.

Are the database and user accounts included?

Yes, and that is precisely what separates these tools from a mockup generator. Base44 includes database, authentication and hosting, free plan included, and that free plan opens the core features: authentication, database and analytics. It is the first of its listed strengths and the reason it scores 4.5 out of 5 on ease of use.

On Lovable, server-side features run on Cloud credits: 20 a month on the free plan, and still 20 a month on Pro, on top of the 100 monthly credits. The free plan adds 4 credits for in-app AI features. So you can wire up storage and user accounts without paying, but with a narrow margin.

What do you have to pay to put the app online?

A paid plan, in both cases. Custom domains arrive with Lovable Pro ($25 a month, $21 billed yearly), which also unlocks code editing, removing the Lovable badge, and roles and permissions. On Base44, the custom domain and in-app code edits start at Starter ($16 a month billed yearly), while the Builder plan ($40 a month billed yearly) includes a free domain for one year and adds GitHub integration, which is how you get the source code out.

Base44’s monthly prices are not published: the pricing page only displays annual billing. We quote no monthly amount for that tool.

What do the Lovable and Base44 plans cost?

Tool and plan Published price Credits included per month
Lovable, free $0 5 build credits a day (30 a month maximum), 20 Cloud credits, 4 credits for AI features
Lovable Pro $25 a month, $21 billed yearly 100 credits (tiers up to 10,000), plus 5 credits a day and 20 Cloud credits
Lovable Business $50 a month, $42 billed yearly 100 credits (tiers up to 10,000)
Base44, free $0 25 message credits, 100 integration credits, up to 5 apps
Base44 Starter $16 billed yearly, monthly not verified 100 message credits, 2,000 integration credits
Base44 Builder $40 billed yearly, monthly not verified 250 message credits, 10,000 integration credits
Base44 Pro $80 billed yearly, monthly not verified 500 message credits, 20,000 integration credits
Base44 Elite $160 billed yearly, monthly not verified 1,200 message credits, 50,000 integration credits

One detail that matters for a team: Lovable Business, at $50 a month ($42 billed yearly), carries the same allowance of 100 credits a month as Pro. What the extra money buys is SSO, internal publishing, the Lovable API, protected preview links, your data excluded from model training by default, and priority support. Workspace members are unlimited on Pro and on Business alike. The tier detail is laid out in our breakdown of Lovable pricing and credits.

Where is your app data hosted?

This is the real gap between the two. Lovable advertises regional hosting in the EU, the US and Asia-Pacific, with data staying in the selected region by default, and does not specify which plans can make that choice. Its security page reports SOC 2, ISO 27001 and GDPR, with a DPA published online, which puts it at 4.5 out of 5 on this criterion.

Base44 stores data in the US by default. Choosing another region is reserved for the Elite ($160 a month billed yearly) and Enterprise plans, and the list of available regions is not specified. The vendor lists SOC 2 Type II and ISO 27001, states GDPR compliance, offers a DPA on request and publishes a subprocessor list, which gives 3 out of 5. If your app will hold records on customers or staff in Europe, that difference carries more weight than the price gap.

Lovable or Base44: which one fits your case?

If your app will hold personal data and someone will eventually ask you where it sits, Lovable starts ahead thanks to its region choice and its 4.5 out of 5 on compliance. Remember that its monthly credits expire after two months, so plan to spend them rather than bank them.

If you want the lowest budget for an internal tool, Base44 Starter at $16 a month billed yearly gives unlimited apps, in-app code edits and a custom domain, while the free plan caps you at 5 apps. Note that AI model selection only arrives with Builder, at $40 a month billed yearly, and that source code export through GitHub comes with that same plan.

To try things without paying, Lovable’s free plan (4.5 out of 5) is usable day to day with its 5 credits a day, where Base44 (3.5 out of 5) caps you at 25 message credits a month. The line-by-line comparison sits in our Lovable vs Base44 write-up. And if what you actually need is a marketing site rather than an app with user accounts, go through our guide on building a website with AI instead: the tools and the budgets are not the same.

Frequently asked questions

Can you build an app with AI for free?

Yes, for testing. Lovable gives you 5 build credits a day, so 30 a month maximum, plus 20 Cloud credits and 4 credits for the AI features inside your app. Base44 gives 25 message credits and 100 integration credits a month, with up to 5 apps and the core features: authentication, database and analytics.

How much does an AI app builder cost?

Lovable Pro is $25 a month, or $21 a month billed yearly. Base44 Starter shows $16 a month billed yearly, and its monthly rate is not published on the pricing page. Above that, Base44 lists Builder at $40, Pro at $80 and Elite at $160 a month billed yearly.

Do you need a developer for the database and user logins?

No, both tools ship those pieces. Base44 includes database, authentication and hosting, free plan included. On Lovable, server-side features run on Cloud credits, counted at 20 a month on the free plan and still 20 a month on Pro.

How many credits does building an app use?

Neither vendor publishes a per-step rate card. Lovable states only that credit cost varies with the complexity of each request. Base44 separates message credits, spent on exchanges with the AI, from integration credits, spent on connections to outside services.

Can you export the code from an AI app builder?

Yes in both cases, from a paid plan. Lovable allows code editing from the Pro plan. Base44 allows in-app code edits from Starter and adds GitHub integration, which is how you export the source code, from the Builder plan.

Where is the data stored in an app built with AI?

Lovable advertises regional hosting in the EU, the US and Asia-Pacific, without specifying which plans can pick a region. Base44 stores data in the US by default, and switching region is reserved for the Elite and Enterprise plans, whose list of available regions is not specified.

Sources

  1. Lovable pricing page
  2. Lovable subscription plans documentation
  3. Base44 pricing page
  4. Base44 security page

Review happens after publication, several times a week. Some links are affiliate links: we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the order of our recommendations.