HubSpot gives you a free CRM with no time limit for up to 2 users, then Sales Hub Starter at $20 per seat per month. The jump after that is steep: Professional at $100 ($90 billed yearly) with a mandatory $1,500 onboarding fee, and Enterprise at $150 billed yearly with $3,500. Stacknota score: 4.3 out of 5.
Contents
- Is HubSpot worth it for a small business, in short?
- What can the free CRM actually do?
- What do the Sales Hub plans cost?
- Why do the onboarding fees change the math?
- Where does HubSpot store your data, and what does compliance cover?
- What limits should you know before you commit?
- Who is HubSpot the right choice for?
Key takeaways
- The free HubSpot CRM has no time limit and takes up to 2 users, with contact management, deal pipelines, data import and a reporting dashboard.
- Sales Hub Starter is listed at $20 per seat per month as the base price, with 500 HubSpot credits included.
- Sales Hub Professional is $100 per seat per month ($90 billed yearly) and carries a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $1,500.
- Sales Hub Enterprise is listed at $150 per seat per month billed yearly, with a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $3,500.
- HubSpot runs data centers in the US (East and West), Canada, Australia and the EU (Frankfurt), on AWS, and assigns new accounts based on IP location at sign-up.
- The ISO 27001 certification cited on HubSpot pages belongs to its infrastructure providers, not to HubSpot itself; SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 are available in its Trust Center.
Tools in this article
| Tool | Stacknota score | From | Free plan | Data in the EU | Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 4.3 | $20per seat per month | ✓ Yes | ✓ Yes | Try |
- From
- $20 per seat per month
- Free plan
- ✓ Yes
- Data in the EU
- ✓ Yes
Is HubSpot worth it for a small business, in short?
HubSpot scores 4.3 out of 5 on Stacknota, from documentation checked on September 23, 2026. The per criterion breakdown tells you more than the average: 5 out of 5 for the free plan, 4.5 for ease of use, 4.5 for features, 4 for data protection, and only 3.5 for price. So the way in is unusually open and the feature coverage is broad, while the bill climbs in big steps rather than gradually. That lines up with the audience HubSpot targets: companies that want to start with a free CRM and later bring sales, marketing and customer service into one suite.
What can the free CRM actually do?
The free HubSpot CRM has no time limit and takes up to 2 users. It covers contact management, deal pipelines, data import and a reporting dashboard. That is what earns it the top mark of 5 out of 5 on that criterion in our grid: few vendors leave a working CRM open with no expiry date.
One caution about numbers you will see quoted elsewhere. A HubSpot product page mentions 1,000 contacts for the free CRM, but the pricing page does not confirm that limit, so we do not treat it as verified. Where the free tier stops being enough is the subject of our separate piece on the HubSpot free plan.
What do the Sales Hub plans cost?
Three paid plans structure the sales side, billed per seat per month. The amounts below are the ones we recorded on the official pricing page, in US dollars (no other currency was displayed from where we looked, so readers in the UK, Canada and Australia should check the price shown for their own country).
| Plan | Monthly | Billed yearly | HubSpot credits | Onboarding fee |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free CRM | $0 | $0 | not stated in our records | not stated in our records |
| Sales Hub Starter | $20 per seat | not verified | 500 | not stated in our records |
| Sales Hub Professional | $100 per seat | $90 per seat | 3,000 | $1,500, one time |
| Sales Hub Enterprise | not verified (quote) | $150 per seat | 5,000 | $3,500, one time |
Two details matter before you compare anything. First, the $20 for Starter is a base price: the page currently shows a limited-time offer for new customers at $7 billed yearly or $10 billed monthly. The direct consequence is that the standard yearly price for Starter is not readable, so we leave it unverified. Second, only the yearly price for Enterprise ($150) is displayed, with the monthly figure going through a quote. For the full current grid, go to the vendor’s pricing page rather than any table copied from it.
Why do the onboarding fees change the math?
Because they are mandatory and paid up front: $1,500 on Sales Hub Professional and $3,500 on Sales Hub Enterprise, charged once. They sit on top of the per seat price, whatever the size of your team.
In our reading, this is the line most often left out of a small company budget, and it weighs more in year one than the move from $20 to $100 per seat. A team weighing Starter against Professional is not comparing two subscriptions: it is comparing a subscription against a subscription plus an entry ticket. We treat the Starter to Professional step as the real decision point in HubSpot’s lineup, well ahead of the monthly versus yearly choice. It is also what explains the 3.5 out of 5 on price, even though the entry price is among the lowest around.
Where does HubSpot store your data, and what does compliance cover?
HubSpot runs data centers in the US (East and West), Canada, Australia and the EU (Frankfurt, Germany), on AWS infrastructure. New accounts are assigned based on IP location at sign-up, and European customers are normally hosted in the EU. That spread of regions is one reason for the 4 out of 5 on the data criterion, and it is worth a second look if your team signs up from one country but your customer records belong to another.
On documentation, SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 are available in the Trust Center, the DPA is built into the customer terms, and transfers are covered by the Data Privacy Framework and Standard Contractual Clauses. One nuance to carry with you: the ISO 27001 certification you will see cited belongs to HubSpot’s infrastructure providers, not to HubSpot itself, and its own security page attributes it only to those providers. We have not verified whether you can change hosting region after the account is open, so if that point decides the deal for you, ask before you sign.
What limits should you know before you commit?
Three stand out in our records. The mandatory onboarding fees from Professional up, already covered, are the first. The second is the price gap between Starter and Professional, which leaves little room for a team that needs automation but cannot fund a Professional budget. The third is quieter: temporary promotional pricing makes comparison harder. When the page shows $7 for new customers while the base price is $20, the amount you pay at renewal is not the amount you saw at checkout.
On top of that sits the HubSpot credits mechanism, with volumes that change by plan: 500 on Starter, 3,000 on Professional and 5,000 on Enterprise. How often those credits refill, and exactly what they can be spent on, are not in our records. Check both with the vendor if you plan to build a process on them.
Who is HubSpot the right choice for?
One or two people organizing their outreach. A free CRM with no time limit is hard to argue with: contacts, pipelines, import and reports at no cost. This is the profile HubSpot serves most cleanly.
A small company that wants sales, marketing and service in one place. That is the central argument for the suite, rated 4.5 out of 5 on features, and the reason some teams accept the Professional ticket at $100 per seat per month plus $1,500 in onboarding.
A sales team that mainly wants a simple pipeline. Here the call is genuinely open. Pipedrive starts at $14 per seat per month billed yearly, with no free plan, and hosts European accounts in the EU by default. We put the two side by side in our HubSpot vs Pipedrive comparison.
A tight budget that needs more than two free users. Zoho CRM is free forever for up to 3 users and lists $14 per user per month billed yearly on Standard. All three options are lined up in our best CRM for small business roundup.
Whichever way you go, check the price displayed for your country and currency at the moment you subscribe: our records are in US dollars, and a running promotion can hide the renewal price. The full breakdown, with every criterion score, is on the Stacknota HubSpot page.
Frequently asked questions
Is HubSpot really free?
Yes, for part of the product. The free HubSpot CRM has no time limit and takes up to 2 users, with contact management, deal pipelines, data import and a reporting dashboard. Deeper sales and marketing features sit behind the paid Sales Hub plans.
How much does HubSpot Sales Hub cost per user?
Sales Hub Starter is listed at $20 per seat per month as the base price, Professional at $100 per seat per month ($90 billed yearly), and Enterprise at $150 per seat per month billed yearly. The amounts we recorded are in US dollars. The monthly price for Enterprise is quote only.
Does HubSpot charge onboarding fees?
It does, and they are easy to miss. HubSpot applies a mandatory one-time onboarding fee of $1,500 on Sales Hub Professional and $3,500 on Sales Hub Enterprise. No fee of that kind appears in our records for the Starter plan.
Where does HubSpot store my data?
HubSpot runs data centers in the US (East and West), Canada, Australia and the EU (Frankfurt, Germany), on AWS. New accounts are assigned based on IP location at sign-up, and European customers are normally hosted in the EU. The DPA is built into the customer terms.
Is HubSpot good for a small business?
For a one or two person team, the free CRM is often enough to run a pipeline at no cost. Past that, plan for the step from Starter to Professional, which combines a higher per seat price with a $1,500 onboarding fee. HubSpot scores 4.3 out of 5 on Stacknota.
Sources
- HubSpot, Sales Hub pricing
- HubSpot, CRM Starter plan
- HubSpot, data centers
- HubSpot, security and compliance
Review happens after publication, several times a week. Some links are affiliate links: we may earn a commission, at no cost to you. It never changes the order of our recommendations.
